Professional Networks via Social Media is the Key

I have only recently (last 6 months) been introduced to the concept of online professional networks via social media and I am a convert. I have created my own Facebook Group, Diigo community and Twitter site and the more I utilize these forms of social media for professional learning, the more amazed I am of the content that I can access.

In the area of Health and PE, educators from across the globe all have the same wants and needs. 1. For schools and Principals to acknowledge that physical activity is vital to learning. 2. That ICT is a key method of engagement for students and how do I keep them active while at the same time embracing technology?3. How do I fit health  and PE into an already crowded curriculum?4. How do I get other teachers on board the advocacy train?

Social media is an awesome way to keep in touch with what is happening globally in this space and it gives me new ideas (research, data) but more importantly it let’s me know that I am not alone out there, that there are hundreds if not thousands of others who are just as passionate about health and PE and kids as I am and that feels good.

Check out @achpernt on twitter and #achper #pegeeks

Leave a Reply

